The present Royal Palace (Kungliga Slott) was built in the site of the Tre Kronor Palace, which burnt down in 1967, some say not without the help of Nicodemus Tessin the Younger, who had already built a new northern wing and who obviously relished the glory of rebuilding the palace to his Renaissance designs.
His father, Nicodemus the Elder, had been architect to the old Tre Kronor Palace, and the grandson, Carl Gustaf, was responsible for supervising the completion of the new palace many years later. The palace comprises 608 rooms. Various suites are open to the public – the stunning Royal Apartments are what most people go to see – and the sprawling palace houses three museums. Lovers of military uniforms and marching can watch the 40-minute Changing of the Guard ceremony in the outer courtyard.
For more of Sweden’s aristocratic heritage head for the House of Nobility (Riddarhuset) on the nearby island Riddarholmen, built 1641 as a meeting place for the nobles. It is arguably the most beautiful building in Gamla Stan, with two pavilions looking out across the water.
Inside, the nobles deliberated in the grandeur of the Main Chamber, watched from above by a painting of Mother Svea, who symbolizes Sweden.
On the opposite side of Centralbron is Riddarholmskyrkan, an iron-spired 13th century monastery church (the oldest in Stockholm) that serves as the burial place for Sweden’s monarchs.
Royal Residences in Stockholm, written by Tor Kjolberg
Feature image (on top): The Blue Room, House of Nobility, photo: Henrik Sundholm (Flickr)
Unusual Views of Stockholm
Stockholm – The Vasa Capital
Stockholm – The Capital That Floats on Water